A Mermaid in Middle Grade – Book Review

Book Series: ★★★★☆ (4.10 / 5 stars)
Book One: ★★★★☆ (4 / 5 stars)
Book Two: ★★★★☆ (4.5 / 5 stars)
Book Three: ★★★★☆(3.75 / 5 stars)

Brynn Finley is excited to learn magic, especially now that she is in middle school! But middle school is overwhelming: there are so many people, so many classes, and to top it all off…she can’t do mer-magic! But she can’t let her friends know, otherwise she’ll be the laughing stock of the whole school!

In a story about magic, friendship, growing up, and consequences, we venture to Brynn’s home beneath the sea. Any child, or adult, who have experienced the fear of middle school can relate to Brynn’s experience. The need to impress everyone, the challenges of friendship, and the embarrassment over mistakes are emotions we have all gone through.

I read all three books back-to-back after waking up early this morning, which is why I’m writing one review for all three. Each one explores similar a different part of the middle school experience: lying to others, consequences of your actions, and making new friends, just to name a few. In a way, each of these stories was like an episode of a children’s cartoon: each one teaches a lesson, even if it’s not front and center. I even visualized it as an animation while reading it!

In addition, the books also give an important message about sea life: we need to protect the oceans at all costs. That’s the duty of a mer-person, after all. But even if they’re not out there protecting our oceans, we can do our part.

These cute books will connect with everyone: you’ll see your past and current self in Brynn’s actions. And who can resist ocean puns?

What’s it about?

A Magical Mermaid Fantasy Adventure for children ages 8-12

A young mermaid. A sea witch out for revenge. Can Brynn Finley become a sea guardian and help humans in danger when she just barely started the sixth grade?

Brynn Finley is the only mermaid in class who hasn’t been able to learn mer-magic. Without it, she can’t be a guardian of the sea with her parents and friends. On her quest for answers, Brynn encounters a loveable sea turtle, a pair of selkie sisters, and Phaedra, the great and terrible sea witch. Soon Brynn is over her head in trouble, and she must learn to ask for help if she’s going to follow the merfolk oath to be a protector of the ocean and a guardian of the sea.

The Mermaid in Middle Grade series is a middle-grade fantasy adventure series and coming of age books appropriate for ages 8-12 and all who enjoy middle grade books!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: